Six Time Winner of the World Travel Awards Leading Luxury Tour Operator for South Africa

Call toll free

  • usa 1 877 511 6860
  • uk 0800 680 0423
  • aus 1 800 737 403

Testimonials

Giltedge has turned many travellers into happy clients as you can see from some of the testimonials below. We are also a long-term partner of Zicasso, the worldwide luxury travel specialist, which collects additional feedback and where we have achieved 4.9 stars (out of 5) based on over 100 reviews - check it out: http://www.zicasso.com/travelcompany/giltedge-africa/1597261 

===

Hi Tanya, 

Beautiful accommodations, amazing hospitality, contagious smiles …. Thank you so much for the recommendations. It was truly a remarkable experience and a “once in a lifetime” vacation.

Brenda Bailey (Travelled: May 2017)

===

Hi Nikki

We are finally home after many hours of travel. My only complaint with you, is can't you get closer to us? It really is a long trip.

On a serious note, I thought you did a great job, and your company was outstanding. Malcolm was a wonderful guide in Cape Town, and Reuben at Kings Pool was also fun to be with. We were very fortunate to have him to ourselves for a couple of days which really made it special as we talked about his family and the country in general. 

We thought Wilderness did a great job. Transfers were timely; drivers gave us so much info and went the extra mile. We noticed they even own the planes and the lease at the resorts. It was so helpful for us that everyone spoke such perfect English.

In comparing the 2 camps, our preference is Kings Pool. More animals and easier travel. Vumbura would be a nightmare for anyone with back issues or any trouble with bumpy roads, and we had to go such distances to see some species. Both camps made special efforts to show us every possible animal and we had some incredible experiences. Momma Bee at Kings Pool is special and it is reflected in her "crew". They were just more attentive to our relaxation and comfort.

Loved flying in the small planes but they have upgraded and nearly all are now the 14 passenger ones. The Land Rovers at the upscale camps are also new and very comfortable.

Wayne & Eileen Cole (Travelled: May 2017)

===

Hi Faye, 

We're leaving for Victoria Falls today, after our three night stay in Tintswalo. What can I say? It was the single best travel experience I have ever had - and that is in no way an exaggeration. The safaris were both exciting adventures and breathtaking wildlife experiences and Tintswalo Lodge was incredible in every way! I was thinking to myself many times during this trip how long I have waited to do this (safari my entire life) and how my expectations were actually exceeded. Better still, my wife who is afraid of animals and who had reservations about doing a safari was equally enthralled by the entire experience - well, almost as much as me :)

As for Cape Town, the view from our room at The Table Bay was breathtaking and the hotel itself is incredible. Steve is an excellent guide - we greatly enjoyed his expertise and company.

Will drop you a line after Victoria Falls. Thanks again for everything, Faye. My next goal is to bring my kids to Tintswalo in a few years - and hopefully you'll be the person to help me arrange it then too (or perhaps the boss of the person who does :)).

Anita Pieris (Travelled: May 2017)

===

Nikki,

Our trip in general went well, very well, even extremely well in some cases. There's always pluses / minuses and I guess it depends on how you view each incident, whether you can accept the minuses because of the pluses. We saw lots of wildlife at the camps except for Camp Amalinda - but this camp definitely offered us other pluses i.e. walking with the rhinos, the spectacular sights of the amazing coloured rock structures throughout the area, a unique lodge setting and a warm, friendly staff. 

Thanks to your suggestions / guidance throughout our travels we experienced excellent situations including knowledgeable guides / rangers, friendly efficient general staff, high quality food, well located accommodations some with great views/near watering holes, on time transfers, smooth internals flights (Wilderness Safaris even flew us over the Victoria Falls at our request ... they did get permission and it was an ultra treat). All the pilots were absolutely wonderful both in their PR and flying skills. You put together excellent routings/flight choices for us. So thank you very much.

In some respects we felt our stays in Zimbabwe and Botswana offered us more than either Madikwe / Motswari did. It definitely wasn't because we didn't see animals at the South African locations, we certainly did. But the downside of our stays at both these camps had more to do with other things, such as the larger number of tourists.

Since we've started visiting six trips ago, our expectations of what we want from our African safaris has become more streamlined and specific. We're now seeking camps less crowded, probably fly in camps - mainly locations which are not easily accessible by road. But, as always, an outstanding guide is required to make any safari drive exceptional.

As always, we appreciate all your effort in putting together this package for us. Thank you once again, Nikki. We had a memorable trip to Africa in May 2107!

Take care,
Beryl & Tom Schroeter (Travelled May 2017)

===

Hi Murray and Tanya,

Our trip was wonderful and we are telling everyone about Giltedge Travel. We were so very happy with everything! I have also attached some photos from the trip. 

Thank you again for all of your assistance!

Kindest Regards, 
Ellen Gesell (Travelled: May 2017)

===

Hi Nikki

I cannot thank you enough for the trip that you planned and the service that you provided the six of us plus both of my daughters and their husbands.  We all have every intention of returning in the very near future because we realize we have gotten just a taste and we need to go back again. 

I really feel incapable of naming my favorite thing because everything was above my expectations. I cannot wait to plan my next trip. 

Thank you again.

Terry Matre (Travelled: April 2017) 

===

Stella,

The trip you arranged for me was incredible. I was a little apprehensive when I looked at the final itinerary that I hadn’t allowed myself enough time. While more time would have been nice, you planned things so well that I got to see and do everything I wanted to. 

The hotels were superb. Again, I wondered why you had booked me into two Singita lodges instead of planning a longer stay at one. Now I understand! For being so close together they are so different in flora and fauna.

Working within the narrow time parameters I gave you, you booked the trip of a lifetime for me.

Thank you.
Jerry H. Biederman (Travelled: April 2017)

===

Hi Nikki, 

We had a fabulous time. I am sure Christina will chime in as well but we just loved it. Everything was perfect.

Your recommendations were spot on for us. Dining was fantastic, David our tour guide was so good - informative, timely, knowledgeable, super nice, got us to where we wanted to be and even worked some things around due to weather. 

We already want to go back!

Zac Dufour (Travelled: April 2017)

===

Monique

Our experience with Giltedge was terrific. From the moment that we landed in Cape Town we were well taken care of by Lucy. The tours were very well done and we enjoyed the timing and the planning. She made our flights to and from CT stress free.

All of the other arrangements that you made outside of South Africa were equally well planed and executed. We would highly recommend your tour agency to anyone and we have done just that. If we return in 2019 we will once again contact you for assistance.

Thank you for everything. Giltedge is without a doubt the best agency that we have ever used and we travel quite often.

Most sincerely Jane and Henry Kramer (Travelled: February 2017)

===

Dear Monique,

Both my wife and I were absolutely blown away by South Africa and especially by the safari game drives. The Lion Head hike was amazing and very memorable.

Feedback

* Accommodation: nothing to complain about, we loved everyone of them.
* Guide by Paradise Touring: very good. Had a very knowledgeable guide Terrence and we enjoyed his company.
* Tours: well timed and enjoyable.
* Pickups: always punctual and we never felt alone.
* Safari: perfect and couldn't ask for more.
* Things to improve: nothing much really.

A big big thank you Monique for your patience, advice and planning. It was one of our most memorable trips we have been on and we can't ask for more. So thank you for giving us a trip to remember for a lifetime.

Nathanael Chak (Travelled: February 2017) 

===

Hi Nikki,

Up early today, still on South Africa time. To summarize our trip:

Overall, it was wonderful with a combination of scenery, good weather, amazing animals, politics, and history. Each of the guides was excellent, in different ways. We appreciated both the Afrikaans perspective of Peter and Marge, and the colored prospective of Terrence. Your guidance and choice of hotels and activities was excellent. Each hotel was different from the other, but all comfortable. We loved The Residence and Queen Victoria Hotel, and both safari lodges were great - although as you said, quite different.

If we were to go again, we would choose to stay an additional day in Johannesburg as we were not able to see everything on our list. The Apartheid Museum alone could easily take more than the three hours we spent there. We would spend one less day on the Garden Route, and we think we would have preferred staying in Plett rather than Knysna as it seemed somewhat less touristy. The two places for safari were just as you described, each wonderful in its own way with Dulini having amazing food and Sabi Sands being a more beautiful environment than Kapama.

South Africa is a complicated country with a history that we worked hard to understand. Visits to three townships were illuminating; and our outdoor time in Knysna, along the peninsula and in the winelands was beautiful. We all agreed that it was a fabulous trip with almost no glitches. (The pickup confusion in Johannesburg was understandable and we appreciated the wine!) Everything came off on time, the weather was great, and the various destinations offered complementary perspectives.

We will recommend you and a trip to South Africa with enthusiasm.

All the best,
Diane Blum (Travelled: February 2017)

===

Hi Monique

Back safely and had a wonderful holiday. All was up to expectation. The final bit to Victoria Falls was absolutely fantastic. All accommodation was excellent, flight connections all very smooth.

The only problem we had was someone dented the hire car drivers door outside Abbey Manor in Cape Town and obviously did not leave details. And Emirates lost our luggage on the way home but have said they have found it so should have it back today. Neither was your fault !

I have to say you did us proud and we were very satisfied. God willing we shall be back again.

Many Thanks,
Nick Burne (Travelled: February 2017)

===

Hi Nikki,

Thanks to you, it was the trip of a lifetime! It was like being in a National Geographic docudrama! We loved every minute.

Giltedge exceeded our expectations, primarily because of your prompt and thorough attention to detail and your answers to our numerous questions and concerns.

Thank you again.

Kind regards,
Edward and James (Travelled January 2017)

===

Thanks Monique, we are home now and the trip was way more fabulous than we expected. You did a wonderful job. Unfortunately both Brian and I were sick for a few days but at least we were in a lovely place to be sick. All our transfers went well. The journey just kept getting better and better. Brock really enjoyed it as well, and it was very nice for all of us to be in such wonderful settings. We would recommend South Africa to everyone!

Cape Town and Mario were exceptional. Mont Rochelle was spectacular loved it. Brian went to the Franschhoek car museum which he said was the best! We were also happy with the Vineyard, as it is very different from the Waterfront - quiet and peaceful. Founders Lodge was amazing, and Wayne and Vicki were the ulitimate hosts. All was very good, and we hated to leave but will try and come back some time. 

I would highly recommend Giltedge and yourself - you did a wonderful job. Loved it all. Now we are back in the cold and snow but the memory of South Africa is still there. 

Thanks again,
Norma, Brian and Brock (Travelled: December 2016)

Hi Tanya and Sue,

We came to Cape Town yesterday evening from Joburg, and I want to tell you how amazing the Kruger Park safari was.

The Buhala Game Lodge is a fantastic place, along and close to the Crocodile River. A very nice lodge: not too many people - I think we were maximum 30 people. The service and the people working for the lodge were very kind. The place is very clean and quiet with a fantastic view  when you have a room in front of the river - like we had! No noise, just the birds and the wind.

Having a guide on the first day was a very good idea. We were told a lot of details about the animals, the life in the forest, the history of the place ... a lot of information! The owner of the lodge stays there and spends time with the clients. He's a very interresting man and very attentive to us (his guests).

The lodge is close to the Malelane Gate for the Kruger Park (about 10 minutes drive). To arrive to the lodge, we drove through a big plantation of papaya, lychee and other fruits. 

My daughters, Soline and Lou, and I have been in a dream during that trip. It was just fantastic. We have so many pictures in our heads. Thank you so much. You did a perfect job. You must see the faces of my two daughters when they talk about the safari. We are so happy!

I forget to tell you Tanya, about the arriving in Joburg. A woman was waiting for us "family d'Enquin". My daughters didn't believe it. And the hôtel was perfect. The car was perfect. No problem, only pleasure.

Many, many thanks both of you.

d'ENQUIN family. Soline, Lou, Oliver.

Hi Suzaan,

I just wanted to let you know that we arrived home safely. 

We had the most fabulous holiday. Absolutely everywhere we stayed was top notch; the service, the food and the people were just amazing. We had the best trip of our lives!

I want to thank you for all the arrangements you made for us and everything you did to enable the smooth running of our arrivals, transfers, hotel reservations, restaurant bookings, etc.

I hope to engage your services again in the future; and in the meantime I wish you and your family a very happy Christmas, and a happy and healthy New Year.

All good wishes,
Michelle Lucas (Travelled: December 2016)

A big thank you to Giltedge & Lauren for planning the perfect honeymoon! All the details were thoughtfully planned out and accounted for. They were extremely accommodating, organized and detail oriented. 

Our guide in Cape Town and Franschhoek, Malcolm, was absolutely fantastic! He was extremely knowledgeable and was super helpful in tailoring the itinerary to our needs. 

All of the hotels were excellent - each better than the next. The highlight of our trip was definitely the safari! We loved every minute at Dulini. The beach in Mozambique was gorgeous and almost completely private. 

Overall, we had an absolutely wonderful honeymoon and we highly recommend Giltedge to anyone looking an amazing custom tailored trip!

Jillian & Josh Grumer (Travelled: December 2016)

Hi Erika,

Our trip was absolutely amazing. Thank you so much for putting together such a carefully thought out itinerary. We felt that the timing and duration of our stays worked out perfectly. We loved how effortless all of our days were. We simply showed up and everything was prepared and waiting for us. We were treated like royalty by all 3 venues as well as the transfer drivers. We had one mishap with a flat tire leaving Sabi Sands, but fortunately we still made our flight.

Highlights:
* Food - impressed overall with the quality of food we were served. Incorporated delicious local and sometimes exotic flavors
Safari - couldn't believe how close we were able to get to the animals. Saw all of the Big 5
Royal Chundu - top notch accommodations situated in a picturesque setting
Chobe Princess - very cozy. Staff made us feel at home. Elephants came right up to the boat!

Thanks again for planning such a magical journey for us!

Brian and Julie (Travelled: November 2016)

Hey Nikki,

The trip was UNBELIEVABLE! Sami and I had the trip of an absolute lifetime and we could not have done it without you! Thank you so so much!!

Every aspect of the trip was amazing, but the highlights of the trip had to be the hotels you booked for us. La Residence was by far the best hotel we have ever been to. The staff was amazing, grounds were beautiful and room was a palace. After that we fell in love with our Jarat tour guide Lucy. She was the sweetest, most knowledgeable tour guide we had ever met. She was truly a master of her craft. We had the perfect amount of time in each location thanks to your recommendations! 

Then there was the safari. WOW is all we can say. There was not one thing about our time at the Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge which was not to die for. From the buildings to the staff, guides and trackers; the food and wildlife - every aspect was unreal. The staff made us feel like part of their family and took care of anything that we needed. We saw the big 5, and additionally a black rhino in the first three game drives.

The trip was laid out perfectly, every aspect went down without a hitch. All we needed to do was sit back, relax and enjoy our honeymoon! We cannot thank you enough for everything that you did for us. We did not have one bad day, one bad meal or one bad experience the entire trip!

We loved it so much we are planning on taking a trip to the Kalahari for our second anniversary! We see that you also operate in the area so we will definitely be in touch as the timing gets closer!!!

Again thank you so much for making our honeymoon the trip of a lifetime. We truly could have not done it without you.

THANKS!
Matt and Sami (Travelled: October 2016)

Hi Monique,

Our return flights were smooth and we finally made it back to Houston.

The trip was absolutely incredible. Everything was delightful and your recommendations were top notch. I know that the highlight for Virginia and me was the time we spent at Leadwood. The staff was outstanding and the reserve and lodge were amazing. I am so pleased that we were there for my mother's birthday. Leche made it a special day that my mom will always remember. We couldn't have asked for more! 

The Royal Livingstone was a great way to start the trip - refreshing and serene - a lovely beginning. We also very much enjoyed Franschhoek, Hermanus and Cape Town - it was completely different; as if we were in another country. Sadly we did not see any whales in Hermanus - either on the whale-watching cruise or from the shore. 

Every step along the way we were greeted by professional, friendly people and each phase occurred without a hitch. It was an outstanding experience. I hope there is an opportunity for another safari vacation in my future - and I will certainly look to you and Giltedge to make it a reality. 

Best regards,
Angela Lootens (Travelled: October 2016)

Hi Rhynhardt,

Sorry about my delay. I am still in the glow of the trip. So many want to hear about our adventures.

As I look back there is nothing I would have changed except to spend more time in Africa. The time went so fast ... not enough time to enjoy each of the wonderful accommodations. I was so happy to meet you and appreciate you making that happen. 

John and I have both said this was our best trip ever ... thanks to you. 

I look forward to hearing about some new trip ideas! I think Africa is calling us back

Best wishes,
Susan Greb (Travelled: October 2016)

Hi Robyn-Lea, 

Yes, we made it home safely! We had the BEST time. All of the accommodations were awesome, we loved the Dulini Leadwood Lodge especially! Now we want to go on safari in different countries.

We can't thank you enough for how amazing it turned out!

Thanks!
Leslie & Ryan (Travelled: October 2016)

Hi Suzaan,

Our trip was amazing and everything I wanted it to be! Accommodations were very comfortable, luxurious with out going “over the top”, with great staff. The Chobe Princess and Savanna Private Game Reserve stand out as with having amazing service and friendly staff. I think it was Bob Kopp who said (while we were at Savanna), just when you think it can't get any better they do this! 

Our transfers were ALL on time, with friendly, kind and informative drivers/guides. Our flights were timed nicely, and went smoothly on South African Airways. However, we did have one hitch with our last flight from Kasane to Joburg.  

Thank you for your time and efforts in making this trip everything hoped it would be.

With gratitude, 
Shari Schumacher(Travelled: October 2016) 

Hi Monique

Our trip to South Africa using Giltedge travel was way beyond my expectations. The agenda planned by Giltedge included all the highlights of Cape Town, a safari at Idube Game Reserve, and an added side trip to the Cradle of Humankind exhibit outside Johannesburg.

We opted for private tours. All the drivers were on time and informative, particularly our Cape Town driver who was engaging as well. All hotels were modern and spacious. The breakfast buffet and the Southern Sun Waterfront Hotel was extensive and delicious.

The safari was amazing. We were fortunate to see a large variety of animals too numerous to list. We even saw rare animals like a cheetah and African wild dogs as well as the Big 5. The animals do not perceive the open air vehicles as a predator or food so the vehicles can get close without disturbing them.

I would encourage anyone to book a trip to South Africa with Giltedge travel.

Judith Schlebecker (Travelled: September 2016)

Hi Tanya -

Simply put, the trip was incredible. The service at the resorts and at the airports were second to none. The food at both locations was fantastic. Exceeded expectations. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Once again, thanks so much for the work you put in to make our honeymoon so memorable.  It truly was a trip of a lifetime.

- Billy & Shannon (Travelled: September 2016)

Hi Nikki,

We are still enjoying the afterglow of such a great trip and thanks again for your great work putting it all together for us.

Best,
Eric & Susan Fossum (Travelled: September 2016)

Dear Tanya and the Giltedge Team,

We all want to thank you so much for helping us plan our “once in a lifetime” trip! Everything went so smoothly, flights were on time, drivers were waiting to meet us, and hotels were expecting us. All the accommodations were beautiful and the service and attention to detail was impeccable. Starting off in Cape Town, the Cape Grace Hotel was beautiful and the staff were friendly and very helpful. Thank you so much for all the lovely treats we would find in our room each day. So kind and thoughtful of you and much appreciated by us all. The restaurants were fabulous and the scenery on the Cape Peninsula was amazing! David, our guide was a pleasure and very informative. We enjoyed our time with him.

The Royal Malewane exceeded our expectations! Everyone called you by your first name and made you feel very special. Our rooms were outstanding and the food was delicious. We became fast friends with our guide Riaan and our tracker Shadow. Their knowledge was impressive and we could not believe how close we could get to the animals. Leopard Hills was also a very beautiful place and the people very friendly and welcoming. It was interesting to see the abundance of animals there. Our guide Jehanne and our tracker Ronald were also friendly and very knowledgable. Nature is so fascinating! They made sure we saw all the big 5 and more! If there is one area they could improve on it would be their food.

Victoria Falls was a sight to see, spectacular and The Victoria Falls Hotel was very grand. 

All in all it truly was a fabulous trip and one we will remember forever. Your recommendations were wonderful and we appreciate all your help. We will happily recommend you to any of our friends.

It was a pleasure planning our trip with you!

Best Wishes,
Dave, Shelley, Matt and Jo (Travelled: September 2016)

Hi Rhynhardt,

Well you beat me to it!! Myplan was to email you from the Jo'burg airport (where we are currently sitting) and thank you for all that you did for us! Hermanus was lovely and thank you again for arranging the HUGE room with a terrace at The Marine - much appreciated.

Rhynhardt, it was a pleasure to work with you. We appreciated that you Skyped with us at the beginning, to get a sense of the type of trip we were looking for - and you delivered. Everything was seamless; we really liked having someone pick us up and deliver us to where we needed to go, especially after a looong flight and a looong tedious trek through immigration and customs when we first landed in Jo'burg. All tour guides were very professional; we particularly enjoyed Shante - she was delightful. All accommodation exceeded expectations.

This truly was a trip of a lifetime for us and thank you for making it so easy. It was an amazing experience; we learned a lot. I wish that you could plan all our future trips to other countries - not sure we will be able to find anyone else who can deliver exactly what we were looking for. So thank you again, and if you ever venture to Canada, please let us know - there is maple syrup and beer waiting for you!!!

All the best
Angela and Dave (Travelled: September 2016)

Faye,

The trip was fantastic. Everything went smoothly and we loved the accommodations. We recommended your agency to many people we met.

The mountain view room at the Victoria & Alfred was lovely and we really appreciated the wine and cheese you sent. It was a perfect pick me up after our long travel. The location was great with many shopping and eating options within walking distance. 

Jamie, our guide for our time in the Cape area, was great and we would highly recommend that you request him. He was very knowledgeable re the area and history, but also in the flora and fauna of the area as we pestered him with what is this and what is that? He was concerned and helpful when we needed to stop for medicine etc. It was so nice to private tour and with the same person. It spoiled us, as that was not the case in Victoria Falls. We felt quite pampered at the Grootbos Lodge and The Last Word Franschhoek.

The safaris were a lot of fun and surprisingly restful. Both locations were top notch I must say that the Savanna was my favorite. We met a couple Tim and Lee/Leigh?, from Australia who booked their stay thru Giltedge with one of your co-workers.

Victoria Falls was beautiful and The Victoria Falls Hotel was amazing. 

As I said earlier it was a wonderful trip, and I have recommended you to many people. 

Carolyn Ross (Travelled: September 2016)

Hi Robyn,

I have been meaning to contact you since we returned from our trip. You did such an amazing job organizing it and it was truly a trip of a lifetime. (Although I would like to take another such trip down the road!) I can't thank you enough for your effort and guidance. Right up until the end I requested changes, private guide and tracker (which I am so glad that you were able to accommodate us with), and the upgraded room at the Cape Grace Hotel (so beautiful).

We had the best suite on the Zambezi Queen, front of the boat which allowed for a deck and water views from two sides instead of one. I might also mention that we met a very nice couple from Orlando FL who also booked through Giltedge and their suite was opposite ours, also in the front of the boat. Clearly Giltedge has the advantage over other agencies. 

I will recommend you to any of our friends who are interested. 

Thank you again, it was a pleasure to work with you.

Sincerely,
Maryanne Chrystal Broderick (Travelled: September 2016)

Hi Nikki!

Yes we are back and we DID have a wonderful time.

Thank you so much for all the work you put in to making our trip a success. Everyone was on time, courteous and all of the arrangements went very smoothly.

I would especially like to thank you for our wonderful guides Norman and Penda. They were both knowledgeable and had much to tell us about the animals we were lucky enough to see. I would highly recommend both of them for your future clients. 

The accommodations were great also, with the possible exception of Pumzika. I guess it was just a bit too rustic for our taste but the staff was courteous.

We had many wonderful memories and loved both countries we visited. Thanks again for being the creator of our journey. 

I would be happy to recommend your company if any friends are headed your way.

Sincerely,
Cathy Braiman (Travelled: September 2016)

Faye,

Your entire staff was amazing, and Mary and I had a  wonderful time. The safari was something we will never forget, and both of us look forward to coming back and seeing what Southern Africa has to offer including Victoria Falls.

I will never forget how you guys took care of me, especially when I lost my passport and left excess luggage at the airport.

You guys truly are spectacular!!!

Sincerely,
Kurt Hilbers (Travelled: July 2016)

Hi Nikki,

We loved it!! Absolutely loved the trip and all you planned for us.

Cape Town was interesting and we lucked out the last day as the sky cleared in the afternoon and we were able to go to the top of Table Mountain just before sunset. What spectacular views!

The Delta was wonderful seeing so many unusual birds and animals as well. The highlight of course was sitting in the canoe and watching the magnificent sunset.

All the accommodations were great but our favorite was Dulini. Having your very own pool with animals roaming in the background was quite the treat. To top it off we had candlelit dinners out on the lawn.

Every guide was wonderful and made us feel at home with information regarding South African history as well as their own experiences. We looked forward to being with them every day - and they always had a smile for us even at 5:30 in the morning.

We were so excited to see every animal on our list including the wild dogs.

As for disappointments, the biggest was Victoria Falls. With not much water, we were able to see the rock formations. We thought, however, if we had stayed on the Zimbabwe side we might have seen more of the waterfall. So next time!

All we can say is thank you so much for a job well done. There is no question we would definitely recommend you to anyone we know who is thinking about going to South Africa!!

Best Regards,
Sheila & Cary (Travelled: September 2016)

Hi Robyn,

I would like to personally thank you for making our trip memorable and flawless. We loved Cape Town ... and the Winelands! Dinners at Kloof Street House and Pigalle were wonderful.

Leadwood was an amazing recommendation and to be honest I liked it just as much as I liked Royal Malewane! In fact, Leadwood's food was better!

I will be recommending you whole-heartedly to any friends or family who want to travel to Africa in the future. If we come back we will use you again. You are an asset to your company and I hope Giltedge realizes how committed you are to your customers.

If you are ever in the U.S.A. let us know and hopefully we can give you some recommendations!

Thanks,
Crystal Janani and Amos Whitney

Hi Nikki

Apologies for my delayed response! Quite the challenge getting back into reality last week. We had the most incredible honeymoon. Thank you for all you did to make it so easy and so special! Everything was seamless, from our airport pick-ups, to our hotels, to our meals and reservations - we literally didn't have to worry about a thing. And not to mention how stunningly beautiful our surroundings were - it was paradise from start to finish!

Thanks again!
Katharine & Sean (Travelled: September 2016)

Hi Rhynhardt,

The trip exceeded our expectations, it was absolutely wonderful. The only change we may have made was to do the Safaris last…reason being is the service was so OVER THE TOP good.

All the activities were wonderful, and the service was outstanding.

Thank you for putting this itinerary together for us…it was truly a great trip. I have already passed your name to a few friends who are considering a trip to Africa.

Steve Platman (Travelled: September 2016)

Dear Nikki,

I'm not sure words can express what an amazing time we had. The fact that you created a trip that was seamless in every way and we didn't have to think about anything is truly beyond explaining. Your transfer people were dependable, professional yet personable, interesting and brought different perspectives to our journey that we might not otherwise have had an opportunity to see or share. Having someone speak the language, know where to go and basically point us in the right direction all the way, allowed us to soak everything up without being distracted.

All the planning you did for us from start to finish was superb! Worth its weight in gold and created a totally stress-free, amazing memorable anniversary! It has convinced us we need to take the time and do something special every other year. I'm not sure if I mentioned that my husband wasn't totally sure when I started this process but when he saw the itinerary you sent, he said pull the trigger!! Then afterwards, he is the one who can’t stop talking about it!!

Nikki the accommodations were beautiful. Kapama Karula was over the top sophisticated! Sabi Sands Simbambili, while still being luxurious, was totally comfy and cozy. We felt like we were staying at a rich aunties, who had that amazing place in the country!! Victoria Falls River Lodge was super chill; looking out over the river, kicking back with a glass of South African Sauvignon Blanc!! Get to The Cape Grace, what a pretty hotel and wonderful team of people.

Every day was filled discoveries that were memorable and enriched our lives. We certainly can't single out just one highlight as everything form the accommodations, food, people, geography, animals, environment, culture, history was amazing. The best vacation we've ever had!! We truly would love to come back and bring friends if you ever have any special packages please let us know.

Warmest Regards,
Randy and Debbie Harpel (Travelled: August 2016)

Hi Amina,

I just wanted to send you a short email to say thank you for planning such a wonderful trip for my mom, my daughter and I in South Africa this past July. It was the greatest and most memorable trip we've ever taken (and we've traveled a lot!).

Giltedge Africa was an outstanding tour operator, and the trip was planned out just perfectly. We loved our guide, Samson, too. I would like to send him an email ... do you have an email address for him?

I will be writing a story about our trip for TravelingMom.com, and in the Chicago Daily Herald newspaper. I will mention Giltedge and include a link. Hopefully that will help convince others to use your company when traveling to Africa! I know we will be using Giltedge when we go back one day. Hopefully soon!

Thanks again,
Jamie Bartosch (Travelled: July 2016)

Hi Nicky,

So our trip was great. It was very well organized - all transfers were professional and prompt. All the hotels were wonderful. We liked Pumba Water Lodge and Cheetah Plains better than Thornybush, but we thought all three were great. We will definitely recommend your company if we know people coming to visit South Africa.

Thank you again for all your help in organizing everything - you were so easy and prompt to communicate with.

All the best,
Kristin (Travelled: September 2016)

Hello Nikki,

The trip you planned for us was nothing less than amazing. We saw more variety of animals than expected, more in volume and was amazed by how close we were able to be by them. The accommodations were excellent. I can’t tell you how pleased I was with every single arrangement – thank you so much. You helped create a journey beyond expectations.

Best,
Karen & Tom Zachary (Travelled: September 2016)

Dear Erika,

Thanks for making our dreams come true. We enjoyed our 10th Anniversary and my husband’s 60th Birthday in an extraordinary way which gave us beautiful and warm memories of an unforgettable tour far, far away from home.

All our wishes were taken care of since the first itinerary we received. All the hotels were carefully chosen and we had more than enough information about the sights and options to choose.

We enjoyed the beautiful scenery of Franschhoek and the Winelands; the atmosphere of Cape Town and the magnificent sights such as Table mountain and the Cape of Good Hope; the incredible tour, service and food on board The Blue Train; the amazing hotel Castello di Monte in Pretoria and the amount of animals in Kruger National Park. Fantastic!

Extra thanks for organizing the assistant in Johannesburg Airport; since the beginning we felt royal and VIP guests in South Africa.

All the best for the springtime and kind regards from Finnish autumn rain,
Liisa Hamalainen (Travelled: September 2016)

Dear Monique

Our experience with our safari was fantastic. Everything was excellent. The transfers, accommodations, reception, food, guide and reserve marvelous. Just good memories.

Thank you.
Eduardo Saadi (Travelled: August 2016)

Hi Monique,

From start to finish, the entire trip was fantastic! I have to congratulate Bushtracks for taking such good care of us. Every transfer and activity was seamless. They do a terrific job. Also, Ngoma Safari Lodge was outstanding in every way. I HIGHLY recommend it. 

Thank you for all your work putting this trip together. We all had a marvelous time. We are already talking about our next trip to Africa.

All the best,
Carol Cross (Travelled: August 2016)

Robyn-Lea,

Now that we are back in NH and getting back to our routine, I wanted to thank you and your company for an amazing trip. Cape Town, the Winelands and the safari exceeded our expectation, and all the logistics went off without any problems - even factoring in African time (as we learned is a thing). Victoria Falls was less exciting but that may have something to do with the fact it was the dry season, and after staying in such small, charming hotels, the larger hotel in Livingstone was not at the same level. But we understand it was just about the best there was.

So, my wife and I want to do it again next summer, but this time going to a different country and experiencing two different safari locations. It’s probably a bit early to start planning but a couple of Botswana locations seem to be what we are focusing on – the Delta and maybe someplace else.

Thanks again  - you did an amazing job of putting this together.

Buddy Phaneuf (Travelled: August 2016) 

Hello Monique,

Our trip was absolutely amazing, and I know we have you to thank. Everything was done perfectly, and my only regret is not spending more time in South Africa.

The Table Bay Hotel was incredible and the room was perfect. The tours with Paradise were great, and Ian was extremely knowledgeable, professional and very helpful. The cheetah outreach was definitely the highlight of my son's experience, and the Pumba Bush Lodge so perfectly matched our personality and style. 

I particularly appreciated your attention to timing, specifically not scheduling anything early on our arrival and setting the safari as the last bit. Lekka Kombuis in Bo Kaap was amazing as well, and she even had my son eating things he's never heard of! This made the experience all the better, and I couldn't have asked for a better trip.

Thank you again for an amazing experience.

Sincerely,
Anthony D'Alberto (Travelled: August 2016)

Dear Rhynhardt

We did have the most wonderful trip, certainly in no small measure to the itinerary you put together for us and the absolute professionalism of everyone involved. You not only made the preparation for the trip painless and uncomplicated, the execution was seamless. Throughout the five weeks we were always pleasantly surprised that the next stage was yet again executed to perfection. So many people involved, so many things that could have gone wrong but did not which we thought was a testament to everybody making an effort to offer the best service possible.

We encountered so many people that were incredibly nice and generous. The beauty of the places we went to was just breathtaking! I still have to pinch myself when I look at the pictures and remember that I was just metres away from these magnificent animals … In short we fell in love with Africa so thank you for helping us to have a truly delightful 5 weeks.

Giltedge Africa & you in particular get a 10 out of 5 from us! :-)

Kind regards,
Monica Olarte & Silvio Montoya (Travelled: May 2016)

Rhynhardt, 

Just got in last night. Had a great time, thanks. Both lodges were great (although it would have been great to have wi-fi at the second one) and I'd recommend them to anyone.

There were always people at the airports to greet me and point me in the right direction, so that was great as well.

Already liked you guys on Facebook and will be sure to point people in your direction whenever possible.

Best,
Kevin Flynn (Travelled: August 2016)

Hi Nikki,

We had an amazing time! We were initially nervous about spending so much money on one trip - we don't travel often, but I don't regret a single penny of it. Each day's itinerary had something we absolutely loved, and overall there was a good balance of relaxing and exciting activities.

The 3-day safari at Dulini Lodge in the Sabi Sands was absolutely amazing. We were treated like royalty and we saw incredible things I never imagined seeing in real life - lions trying to get a kill, baby hyenas playing around, a leopard drag an impala into a tree, a rhino nursing from its mother. Every ride was different and informative. Our guides took care of us, and so did everyone else at the lodge. The food was delicious, and the "honeymoon surprises" were greatly appreciated.

We also thoroughly enjoyed our days touring Cape Town. I'd like to especially note that our tour guide, Shante, was incredible. We learned so much from her and knew we were in good hands. We got to see everything we wanted to and skip some things we didn't care as much about. She even stopped along the road to take a picture of us in front of some beautiful scenery.

Speaking of scenery, taking the cable car up to Table Mountain and driving down the coast to the Cape of Good Hope were two of our favourite activities of our whole trip. Shante was there when we needed her, but she also gave us space and time to do our own thing. For example, she drove us to three or four different wineries in Franschooek, but once were set up she would wait elsewhere until we were finished. We never felt rushed or uncomfortable. Plus we made a new friend!

In Victoria Falls I think we would have preferred staying on the Zimbabwe side. We didn't actually go there, so that's just based on what we've heard from other people. Zambia was still very enjoyable - just not a lot to do once it got dark.

While this was originally supposed to be a once-in-a-lifetime trip, we fell in love with South Africa and want to go back again. When we do, we will certainly book through Giltedge again.

Thanks,
Kathleen Conway & Bradley Tietz (Travelled: July 2016)

Hi Nikki!

Thank you so much for planning the absolute trip of a lifetime. Throughout the trip, Jack and I kept saying that one piece of the trip couldn't possibly be better than the next, yet they just kept getting better and better. From start to finish your planned itinerary truly accomplished everything we had discussed in our initial planning stages. We felt as though we had three complete mini vacations - bush, beach, and city - it made the two weeks fly by, but kept us engaged and on our toes with each new and memorable experience. Thank you for taking the stress out of planning a trip to a foreign and exotic place - for making each transfer, check-in, and next step worry-free. We both were able to sit back and enjoy being together, and knew that we were in the best hands with you and Giltedge.

Londolozi - The pictures we saw didn't even do this place justice. The tree camp was incredible - from the gorgeous porch views to the impeccably designed living quarters. I was in awe of the space before we even made it to our first safari. Rob (manager), Matthew (butler), and staff were so detailed and charming - I had some stomach aches from the Malaria pills on the first few days and he couldn't have been more helpful and attentive. The meals, service, and ambiance were amazing - we were blown away by their attention to detail. Nick and Usce (driver and tracker) both provided safari experiences that exceeded even our wildest dreams. We saw just about everything we could have asked for - giraffe, rhino, hippo, zebra, the elusive leopard, and even lion cubs, lions mating, and a lion confrontation between two packs of males. Each day was a new experience, and the sun rise coffees and sundowner cocktails made for picturesque moments in the wild. 

Benguerra Island - The helicopter ride to get there was a noteworthy experience in itself. We loved the chance to experience something new and to see the aqua water from the view of a tiny helicopter. Wow! Then arriving at Benguerra Island, we quickly realized that service and scenery would be matched, if not exceeded, by what we had experienced on safari. Jack and I decided that &Beyond really figured out everything that one would dream of on a beach vacation, and made it all come true on that tiny island. Abel, our butler, was insanely accommodating - going above and beyond to set up candles and champagne in our room as a surprise, breakfasts as our wake up calls, and lantern-lined dinner at our own Casinha on the last night. The meals were all delicious, and we enjoyed a dhow cruise, island tour, snorkeling, and private island lunch - all organized and accommodated by wonderful staff members. The casinhas were also stunning - the decor and unique touches (outdoor showers! swinging daybed!) both impressive and luxurious. We thoroughly enjoyed just being in our own "house" in paradise. 

Cape Grace - The waterfront hotel was entirely different from our first two experiences yet the service and accommodations were equally as fantastic. We were enthusiastically greeted by a wonderful front desk manager who gave us a detailed tour of the property and our fantastic room with stunning views of the harbor and Table Mountain. Each night, they surprised us with something special - Amarula cocktails, bath soaps from the gift shop, or sweet and salty treats - each with a note about our honeymoon. The concierge was incredibly helpful with car transportations at night, reservations, and reorganizing the airport drop offs. Mr. Kim even called us out by name in the morning and knew all the details from our day/night before.

Again, thank YOU for making our dreams come true - we had the absolute best trip, and have you to thank for making it all happen.

Best,
Caitlin & Jack (Travelled: July 2016)

Hi Robyn,

We made it back from our travels (over 36 hours of flights and layovers) and everything was so wonderful. I cannot thank you enough for the work you did to put together our DREAM vacation. We had so much fun and it was always so lovely to have someone there picking us up for the next leg of our trip. We thought that it was the perfect order of places, as well. It just kept getting better! And Chitwa Chitwa was just ... I am at a loss for words. It was breathtaking and just above and beyond any expectations I had for Africa and/or safari. 

Thank you for everything. I will definitely be recommending your services to my friends and family, and am very appreciative to Chahira for sending me your way.  :)  I hope that you had a lovely holiday!

All my best,
Sima (Travelled: July 2016)

Hi Nikki, 

It was very clear to us that you had a great understanding of what we hoped for during our trip. We really appreciated that the bookings were in smaller lodges and quiet, luxurious places. The service was also exceptional. It was clear that you had been communicating with them about our hopes as they often sat us somewhere quiet and alone for meals. They also knew some of our preferences such as not serving us champagne upon arrival, instead serving a non-alcoholic drink. 

12 Apostles was very nice and Jarat tours was great. We had Tony as our guide with Jarat. He did a wonderful job making sure we got around to all of the things we wanted to do despite only having two days and some bad weather on Table Mountain. He was also very knowledgeable and entertaining on the drives to and from various locations. 

Camp Jabulani and Singita Sweni blew us away. We never have (and probably never will) be treated so wonderfully in our lives. The service was exceptional and their anticipation of our needs never failed. The guides were knowledgeable and managed to show us nearly everything we wanted to see more than once. The safari experiences were exceptional. We would highly recommend these two properties to anyone. 

All in all, it was an exceptional trip. Thank you so much for helping us to plan it, helping us through some travel hiccups, and providing such an amazing experience.

Paul & Cami Touloukian (Travelled: July 2016)

Murray,

Just wanted to thank you and Lauren again for your help with my holiday in South Africa.

I had an amazing time – a truly life-changing experience – and appreciate your team’s professionalism and flexibility in making th